Yale-NUS Writers’ Centre Literary Awards 2017-18

Yale-NUS Writers’ Centre Annual Literary Awards will be offered in four categories: Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry, Playwriting. The Writers’ Centre will award first place (500 SGD), second place (250 SGD), and honourable mention in each category. This competition is open to all current Yale-NUS students, including exchange students and students away on study abroad.

The deadline for submission is: 6pm, 3rd January 2018.
Submit to writers.centre@yale-nus.edu.sg

Submission Guidelines:

  • All submissions should be in Size 12, Time New Roman Font, double-spaced, with page numbers. Playwriting submissions do not need to be double-spaced.
  • Each submission should contain a cover letter and manuscript.
  • The cover letter should state the title of the manuscript, the student’s name and class year, and contact information (Address, RC, and Yale-NUS Email).
  • Manuscripts should contain no reference to the student’s name.
  • Students may submit one entry in each category.
  • Students may submit entries in multiple categories.
  • Multimedia/hybrid submissions will be accepted in each category.
  • All entries must be original, unpublished work.
  • Submissions are final; no revisions will be accepted.

Submission Formats:

  • Fiction: 1 short story of no more than 5000 words
  • Non-fiction: 1 piece of no longer than 5000 words
  • Poetry: A portfolio of up to 5 poems
  • Playwriting: Up to 25 pages

This year’s external judges are:

  • Baoyun Cheo and Bryant Chan (playwriting)
  • Jen Percy (non-fiction)
  • Sharon Solwitz (fiction)
  • Jason Wee (poetry)

The Writers’ Centre will announce the winners in March 2018 and will feature a reading of the winners in April 2018.


Yale-NUS Writers’ Centre Literary Awards 2016-2017

Thank you to all students who submitted to the first annual literary awards. After a competitive selection process, winners were chosen by external judges. This year’s judges included:

Geronimo Johnson (Fiction)

Nicole Walker (Nonfiction)

Richard Deming (Poetry)

Lisa Zeidner (Playwriting)

The Writers’ Centre is delighted to announce the following winners in each category:



First Place: Bryant Chan, Class of 2017, “Deus Ex Olympia”

Second Place: Myle Yan Tay, Class of 2019, “Bunker”

Honorable Mention: Raeden Richardson, Class of 2017, “Chow’s Trade Solutions”



First Place: Lishani Ramanayake, Class of 2018, “White Walled”

Second Place: Abdul Hamid Bin Roslan, Class of 2017, “forest”

Honorable Mention: Bryant Chan, Class of 2017, “How to Tell a True War Story”



First Place: Paul Maravillas Jerusalem, Class of 2019, “Tongues”

Second Place: Teo Xiao Ting, Class of 2018, Untitled Collection

Honorable Mention: Abdul Hamid Bin Roslan, Class of 2017, “tree”



First Place: Roshan Singh Sambhi, Class of 2018, “Properties of Easiness”

Second Place: Myle Yan Tay, Class of 2019, “Growing Up Green”

Honorable Mention: Bryant Chan, Class of 2017 “Daisy, Daisy”


Our prizewinners read at the Yale-NUS Black Box Theatre on April 17, 2017 at 7pm, followed by a reception honoring all of our prizewinners and the accomplishments of the creative writing community at Yale-NUS.